August 15, 2022


Nagar Kirtan decorated from Sri Akal Takht Sahib on occasion of Guru Ramdas Ji's Prakash Gurpurb

Kaumimarg Bureau | October 21, 2021 08:15 PM
On the occasion of Prakash Gurpurb (birth anniversary) of the fourth Guru, Guru Ramdas Ji, the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) in association with Sabha Societies and Sangat (community) decorated and carried out a huge Nagar Kirtan (religious procession) from Sri Akal Takht Sahib. The Nagar Kirtan began with ardas (prayers) from the Akal Takht amidst the resonance of nagaras, jaikaras of Bole So Nihal Sat Sri Akal and narsinghas (a traditional trumpet).  
At the beginning, the holy saroop of Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji was enshrined in the Palki Sahib (palanquin) amid shower of flower petals. 
The prominent personalities present on the occasion included Giani Jagtar Singh, Jathedar of Sri Akal Takht Sahib, Bibi Jagir Kaur, President SGPC, Giani Jagtar Singh Ludhiana, additional head granthi Sri Harmandar Sahib, SGPC general secretary Advocate Bhagwant Singh Sialka and others.
During the Nagar Kirtan, a large number of Sangat recited Satnam Waheguru and expressed their devotion to the fourth Guru. 
A guard of honour was presented by the Punjab Police in respect of Sri Guru Granth Sahib at the plaza outside Sri Darbar Sahib. Flowers were also showered by an aircraft during the Nagar Kirtan. During this time representatives of various Sabha societies and sangats presented Rumala Sahib to Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji and bestowed Siropas (robes of honour) on Panj Pyare and Nishanchi Singhs (those who carry Nishan Sahib). The sangat paid homage by serving langars at various places. It may be recalled that this time the Nagar Kirtan was carried out on the road connecting the old gates of Amritsar city, which was received at various places by the Sangat.
During the Nagar Kirtan, former Jathedar of Akal Takht Giani Gurbachan Singh, Giani Jaswant Singh, head granthi Bhai Malkit Singh, SGPC general secretary S. Bhagwant Singh Sialka, SGPC members Bhai Rajinder Singh Mehta, S.  Bawa Singh Gumanpura, S. Harjap Singh Sultanwind, S.  Mangwinder Singh Khaparkheri, S. Surjit Singh Tugalwal, member of Dharam Prachar Committee Bhai Ajaib Singh Abhayasi, S. Sukhwarsh Singh Pannu, Mumbai resident Bhai Iqbal Singh, Lok Sabha Member of Parliament S. Gurjit Singh Aujla, SGPC secretary S. Mahinder Singh Ahli, additional secretary S. Partap Singh, S. Sukhminder Singh, assistant secretary S. Kulwinder Singh Ramdas, manager of Sri Darbar Sahib S. Gurinder Singh Mathrewal, assistant secretary  S. Harjit Singh Lalu Ghuman, S. Sulukhan Singh Bhangali, S. Simarjit Singh Kang, S. Harjinder Singh Kaironwal, S. Nirvail Singh, S. Sukhbir Singh, S. Gurdial Singh, S. Gurmeet Singh, OSDs to SGPC President Dr Amrik Singh Latifpur and Dr Sukhbir Singh, S. Malkit Singh Beharwal Superintendent and others were present.

Have something to say? Post your comment